Houston Texans awarded 3 compensatory picks


Sep 22, 2013; Baltimore, MD, USA; Baltimore Ravens fullback Vonta Leach (44) loses his helmet during a fourth quarter run against the Houston Texans at M&T Bank Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Mitch Stringer-USA TODAY Sports

The NFL awarded the Houston Texans three compensatory picks for the 2014 NFL Draft, which takes place from May 8-11.

The Texans now have 11 draft picks this year with their original seven picks, including the No. 1 overall selection, plus the sixth round selection of the Oakland Raiders in their trade for Matt Schaub, along with the three compensatory picks.

A side note the Texans now have the No. 1 overall pick and pick No. 256, the final pick in the draft, also known as Mr. Irrelevant.

The Texans Draft order is as follows:

– No. 1 (first round)
– No. 33 (second round)
– No. 65 (third round)
– No. 101 (fourth round)
– No. 135 (fourth round, compensatory pick)
– No. 141(fifth round)
– No. 177 (sixth round)
– No. 181 (sixth round, from Oakland Raiders)
– No. 211 (sixth round, compensatory pick)
– No. 216 (seventh round)
– No. 256 (seventh round, compensatory pick)

With those picks the Texans can start on reworking their depth on defense and offense. They can draft the much needed depth on the defensive line, plus they can work out some kinks on the special teams that caused them some problems last year.

Every draft is huge for NFL teams, but this draft, if done properly could set the tone for the franchise for years to come, because it is unlikely they will have the top pick next season. Plus with 11 picks, if they can hit pay dirt on at least half of them, that would be a very good start to the 2014 season and for future seasons.

What do you want the Texans to concentrate on in terms of depth this draft? Let us know.

For a complete list of compensatory picks awarded to NFL teams, click here.

Follow the Toro Times on Twitter at @Texans_TT and like us on Facebook by clicking here.

Subscribe to the Fansided Toro Times Daily Newsletter for free by clicking here.