Houston Texans Announce Finalized Coaching Staff

Houston Texans
Houston Texans / Erik Williams-USA TODAY Sports

Head Coach DeMeco Ryans has wrapped up the staff hiring process, as the Houston Texans announced the 2023 coaching staff today. During his introductory press conference, he was asked about his hiring philosophy and was quoted saying:

"We want experienced coaches...We want some coaches with not so much experience. You want a diverse staff because players learn differently. We want them to be able to present things in a different way to different players, to make sure that when they step on the field Sunday, there are clear minds. They're not thinking, they're playing as fast as possible...If you can connect with players, then you can lead players...But if you can't connect, then there's no way you can coach those guys. We want guys who are bringing energy and doing it in a fun way. We want guys who are truly committed to working together. No egos allowed. No energy vampires allowed. We want a positive culture. We're going to work together to make sure we're giving the players everything they need."

DeMeco Ryans

A quick scan of the staff shows that he did exactly that. Coach Ryans brought in quite a mix of veteran coaches and up-and-coming coaches, and hopefully, they will exceed all expectations. Below are the coaching hires per the Houston Texans website:

Head Coach

DeMeco Ryans

Defensive Coordinator

Matt Burke

Offensive Coordinator

Bobby Slowik

Special Teams Coordinator

Frank Ross


Stephen Adegoke

Assistant Special Teams Coordinator

Sean Baker

Running Backs

Danny Barrett

Defensive Assistant

Ben Bolling

Defensive Line

Jacques Cesaire

Senior Offensive Assistant

Shane Day

Offensive Assistant

Jarrod James

Quarterbacks Coach

Jarrod Johnson


Chris Kiffin

Chief of Staff

Nick Kray

Senior Offensive Assistant

Bill Lazor

Wide Receivers/Offensive Passing Game Coordinator

Ben McDaniels

Tight Ends

Jake Moreland

Assistant to the Coaches

Jake Olson

Assistant Offensive Line Coach

Cole Popovich

Offensive Line

Chris Strausser

Defensive Passing Game Coordinator

Cory Undlin


Dino Vasso