Houston Texans sign several players to future contracts for 2020 season

The Houston Texans announced their re-signing of players to future deals with 2020 season already in mind.

With the 2019 postseason coming to a bitter end for the Houston Texans, they announced they reached new deals for several players from their practice squad to form part of the 90 man roster in 2020. Inside linebacker Nate Hall, outside linebacker Davin Bellamy, cornerback Anthony Chesley, safety Shalom Luani, and Jonathan Owens are expected to return on the defensive side of the football for the Texans.

Meanwhile, quarterback Alex McGough, running back Karan Higdon, wide receiver Chad Hansen, offensive linemen Rick Leonard, and Kyle Murphy have also signed a future/reserve contract to compete for a possible shot for a roster spot on Houston’s offense.

Looking at the players the Texans signed to future contracts, McGough and Owens are two prospects to watch for the upcoming season as both were promoted to the active roster through the regular season.

McGough’s stint with the 53 man roster was short, but significant as the Texans promoted him to prevent him from being poached by the Jacksonville Jaguars as they dealt with Nick Foles injury early in the season.

On the other hand, Owens was signed and utilized against the Indianapolis Colts in Week 12 with the Texans dealing with a shortage of healthy safeties on the depth chart for that game.

Owens was waived shortly after that, but the Texans re-signed him to the practice squad.

Next: Texans are turning into mid-2010s Cincinnati Bengals

Hansen, Murphy, and Luani are other players on the Texans roster this upcoming season with NFL experience from their previous teams.

Load Comments